PDA

View Full Version : All body panels are removable? (numpty Q!)

goldtop
07-06-2013, 09:09 AM
OK, so I'm new to NSX ownership, and I'm as green about it as my car... I've got a question about the NSX's construction; are all of the outer body panels bolt-on/off?

I've seen many photos of the naked NSX chassis but not really thought about it until now. It seems that the only weld-fixed external body panel is the B pillar/roof.

That said, I've searched here and seen some horror threads about repairs where the new panels, once bolted on, do not line up right. So I presume that replacing a dented panel is not quite as easy as buying a replacement from one of the NSX breakers on Ebay and bolting it on?

(First reason for wondering is that my green NSX has a 20p-sized dent on the bonnet, where a spanner fell off a shelf in the previous owner's garage - ouch. So had been wondering about the cost of proper repair versus buying and bolting on a second hand bonnet.)

britlude
07-06-2013, 10:53 AM
quick answer... Yes! Everything except the roof panel unbolts!

Senninha
07-06-2013, 03:30 PM
equally quick reply ... panel alignment varies due to the hand built construction ...

nigel
07-06-2013, 06:45 PM
A nearly as quick opinion,
If you can find a repairman / shop that can repair the dent and do proper paint work to NSX standards it should be much cheaper to repair the bonnet than replace it.
If it isn't to bad you might have a "Paintless Dent Repair" done. They can work wonders. Usually 30 quid or so per dent.

Cheers
nigel

goldtop
07-06-2013, 08:41 PM
Thanks, fellas. I got a recommendation for a local bodyshop place today, so I will see what they think about repairing the bonnet. I'd hate to buy one in and then find that panel gaps were all over the place, with the result that wings/etc needed extra finessing.