PDA

View Full Version : Mixing tyres?

reg
29-01-2007, 04:48 PM
Had some amusing moments this weekend and have decieded that the sad looking rear 050's have to go. Question is I have Yokohama A043 215/45/16's and was planning to use 245/40 R17 [91Y] Eagle F1 GSD3 on the rear. I am new to the car so am not pushing it too hard but am interested to hear if anyone has used this combo or would think it may turn ugly! I plan to fit the F1's on the front in a few months time anyway. How would the 050's had worked with the Yoko's anyway when they were new?

simonprelude
29-01-2007, 04:55 PM
I would not usually advocate mixing tyres, however as the fronts and rears are different spec anyway then I can't see it being too catastrophic.

I Always only ran RE010's but as you can no longer get hold of them then I am trying various different tyres, I ran GSD2's on the front with GSD3's on the rear and was not happy with them.

Now looking at alternatives and even considering importing RE010's from the states.

TheQuietOne
29-01-2007, 07:55 PM
Hi Reg,

My advice is get the same make all round - and preferably the same tread pattern! I nearly wrote my car off when I first had it hitting a puddle and going sideways accross a dual carriageway. The mix I had then was Yoko's on the front and Pirelli P Zeros on the back. Have had F1's on there all round for the past 18,000 miles (one set!!!!!!!) and have not had one bad moment during the summer with hot roads and all through this winter even in the floods a few weeks back.

One thing that was pointed out to me originally when a lot of us were having trouble with tyres was that mixing brands means the side walls are different (in terms of strength), and this has a marked effect on handling and stability. If you change the fronts to F1's also expect about 500 miles of scrubbing in to feel slightly odd, but after that they should feel planted, progressive and very, very comforting if you get caught out in the rain!