PDA

View Full Version : Driver training?

Minch
20-03-2007, 06:36 PM
I'm looking to use the car a little more for track days. She will still stay as a road car but maybe visit 4-5 times a year. Have to see if I can find enough time!

However I have limited knowledge of track racing. I used to do a lot of motorcross riding when I was young, as well as stints at karting. I'm now looking to hone the natural skills ( :) ) by taking driver training for track driving. Any suggestions on how I should appraoch this?

Who are the best teachers?

What format is best i.e. one to one or group lessons?

Is it worth following the path to a racing license?

What sort of cost would I be looking at?

PS . . . If I find it fun I might have to buy another car as well . . . I'm not going to ruin the NSX!

Kevin
20-03-2007, 08:04 PM
Training is the way to go. I do track days with RMA, and once Graham Clarke said that with about 6 lessons, lap times will be faster and, wear and tear on the car will be less. He wasn't wrong. I was lucky in that I had the same teacher for each lesson, spread over 6 track days. Also at the same track.

Also I have done a day with Don Palmer. He's a bit weird. He doesn't teach you, but rather lets you find out what happens when a car does certain things, so you can learn for yourself. A day with him will be spent spinning the car, and learning how to recognise the signs, and being able to control the car.

The two go together. Don will say that you can't learn how to control a spin unless you are spinning. On the track, you don't really want to be spinning the car in the first place, so how will you learn that there? Track day lessons can vary in quality. Some teachers are little more than wannabe race drivers, mine were more experienced. You will get a hour of lesson along with your day of track driving. Don Palmer is more one to one though £400 a day, but on a empty track/space.