PDA

View Full Version : Aftermarket Stereo

kowalski
28-04-2007, 10:27 PM
Thinking of getting rid of the head unit and cd changer in mine and going for a aftermarket one with ipod connection. Has anyone changed out there stereo?

If so did you wire the new unit into the existing Bose amp/speakers or replace the whole lot. I know you can get a small wiring harness from SOS to help bridge over the OEM plug installation but not sure which is best way to go.

leigh

TheSebringOne
28-04-2007, 11:31 PM
Leigh, with an Ipod, you can buy an attachment that the Ipod plugs into & it will transmit the music to your radio! The attachment is a transmitter I think as I'm not that technical on gadgets! I will ask my galfriend tomorrow & let you know of it's name etc :rolleyes:

Kevin
29-04-2007, 09:16 AM
From what I have read, the voltage levels to the BOSE amps, are not the same as everyone generally uses for line levels signals. I don't know whether it will work or not, or whether it will work, but at low volume.

If you rewire the door speakers, to bypass the amps, and use an inbuilt amp in a new headunit, the BOSE speakers have a low impedence of 1ohm. This is a cheap trick to get more volume out of the low powered amps, but an aftermarket headunit, may not like the low impedence.

The way to go is replace the speakers with other ones. My thread in my mods section shows how I did it. I used the standard wiring to connect to the speakers.

kowalski
29-04-2007, 09:40 AM
Cheers James but i tried that route before with an itrip, it was too much clutter and still used the old stereo which is a bit dated.

Thanks for the info Kevin, should have checked your mods first! I think thats the best way for me, I have one speaker playing up anyway so might just rip the whole lot out and go with your mod. Does your ipod plug directly into the amp in the footwell?

leigh

P.S Do you know what diameter and depth your new speakers where?

mutley
29-04-2007, 12:10 PM
Leigh,